Friday, November 27, 2009

Intelligence Squared Debate: Is Atheism the new Fundamentalism?

The next Intelligence Squared debate considers the motion:  "Atheism is the new Fundamentalism" this Sunday, November 29th, at 7:00pm GMT (that's 2:00pm Eastern time).  It pits Richard Dawkins and A.C. Grayling (against the motion, obviously), against Richard Harries, the former bishop of Oxford, and Charles Moore, former editor of The Daily Telegraph, at Wellington College, Berkshire. It will be chaired by the Headmaster of Wellington Anthony Seldon.  It's also the first I2 debate that will be live-streamed, right here, starting the live feed at 6:45pm GMT (1:45pm Eastern).

There is also a twitter hash tag, #iq2atheism, where you can post questions that may be posed to the panel during the Q&A session.  

I urge everyone to tune into this one if you're not stuck in holiday traffic driving back home (Hopefully I get home in time, driving from New York back to Boston).  I greatly enjoyed the previous I2 debate I watched:  "The Catholic Church is a force for good in the world.", in which Christopher Hitchens and Stephen Fry made Ann Widdecombe and Archbishop John Onaiyekan look completely foolish.

1 comment:

  1. Made it home, just in time to watch Dawkins and Grayling! The live feed is up now, should be starting soon...

    ReplyDelete